Professor Andre Luiten, Cryoclock Managing Director, is Director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS) and Chair of Experimental Physics at the University of Adelaide. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Physics. Prof Andre Luiten obtained his PhD in Physics from the University of Western Australia in 1997, for which he was awarded the Bragg Gold Medal. He has subsequently held three prestigious Fellowships from the ARC. For his efforts Andre was the joint inaugural winner of the WA Premier’s Prize for Early Career Achievement in Science. Andre came to the University of Adelaide in 2013 to take up the Chair of Experimental Physics and a South Australian Research Fellowship from the Premier’s Research and Innovation Fund. He has published 6 book chapters and authored 114 journal papers (with over 4,070 citations), has over 110 conference papers, and has raised over $20M for research. Prof Luiten’s work is aimed at the development of state-of-the-art instruments across many diverse fields of physics. The excellence of his research has been recognised by the award of the Barry Inglis Medal from the National Measurement Institute, which acknowledges outstanding achievement in measurement research and excellence in practical measurements. He is particularly excited by the possibility of applying these instruments to solve problems, or to make measurements that were not previously possible.


Professor John Gideon Hartnett received both his B.Sc. (hons) and PhD with distinction from the School of Physics at the University of Western Australia (UWA). His research interests include ultra-high stability cryogenic microwave oscillators based on pure sapphire resonators, ultra-stable cryogenic optical cavities and tests of fundamental theories of physics and their cosmological implications. He is the 2010 recipient of the IEEE UFFC Society W.G. Cady award for the construction of ultra-stable cryogenic sapphire dielectric resonator oscillators and promotion of their applications in the fields of frequency metrology and radio-astronomy. He established the ultra-stable cryogenic clock and frequency synthesis lab at the University of Adelaide after moving there from the University of Western Australia. He has published more than 120 papers in scientific journals and book chapters.




Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial